Saturday, October 27, 2012

Jacobs Crowned Ironman World Champion

Huntington Beach, CA – October 13, 2012 – TYR athlete Pete Jacobs earned his first Ironman World Championship title with a time of 8:18:37 in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. Beginning his day with a 51:28 swim split, Jacobs had the fourth fastest pro swim of the day in his TYR Torque Pro Swimskin and TYRTracer Racing Goggles.

Jacobs then went on to tally a 4:35:15 bike split, despite some fierce and relentless winds. He would finish his day with a 2:48:05 marathon run, the top split of the day. A native Australian, Jacobs finished second at the World Championship in 2011, and made the top ten in both 2010 and 2009.

Other noteworthy performances by TYR athletes included a seventh place finish from American Andy Potts. Potts was once again first out of the water for the pro men with a time of 50:32. Outfitted in his TYR Carbon Kit, Potts went on to record a 4:43:52 bike split and a 2:53:18 marathon to become the top American male finisher. Potts equaled his best performance at the Ironman World Championships in 2008, when he also finished seventh.

In the women’s race, TYR athlete Amanda Stevens won the women’s pro swim for the second year in a row with a time of 55:09. Stevens wore her TYR Torque Pro Swimskin with a pair of TYR Custom Designed Special Ops Goggles.

Two female TYR athletes finished in the top ten pro women. Mirinda Carfrae finished in third place with a time of 9:21:41. Carfrae was the Ironman World Champion in 2010, and placed second in 2011. In addition, American Linsey Corbin finished in eighth place with a time of 9:32:18. Both Carfrae and Corbin race in the TYR Torque Pro Swimskin. Source here

More news here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...